Chardham Yatra Route Map

For Chardham Yatra Route Map Uttarakhand the pilgrimage to Yamunotri starts either from Haridwar or Rishikesh. Most of the pilgrims being it from Haridwar by public transport. But affluent persones who can afford taxi services or car owners commence it via Dehra Dun and Haridwar. The roué is more interesting and passes through various places of tourist interest.

From Haridwar to Dharasu via Koticolony, a distance of 117 km, the road to Gangotri and Yamunotri is the same. From Dharasu, travelers should follow the direct route to Gangotri via Uttarkashi.

There is a traditional system of commencing pilgrimage to the four shrines of Uttaranchal state, starting from Yamunotri and then Gangotri, the pilgrimage to Sri Kedarnath follows next. At Yamunotri and Gangotri, the pilgrims take bath in the sacred rivers and get cleansed their body and soul and then get ready for further pilgrimage to Sri Kedarnath. The Pilgrims also carry Ganga-water from these places to offer to the Linga of Shiva at Kedranath.

Travellers going from Gangotri to Sri Kedarnath must return to Koticolony via Uttarkashi and Dhaarasu. This Journey of 171 km is all along the bank of the Bhagirathi.

From Koti Colony (Tehri) there are two routes available to Sri Kedarnath.

Koti Colony ( Tehri), Gadolia, Ghansali, Chirbatia, Tilwara, Gaurikund and Sri Kedarnath – 186km.

Koti Colony (Tehri), Gadolia, Srinagar, Rudraprayag, Tilwara, Gaurikund and Sri Kedarnath - 190 km.

Those pilgrims and tourists desirous of visiting Sri Badarinath, Sri Hemkund Sahib, Valley of Flowers to these places from Sri Kedarnath From Gaurikund to Rudeaprayag via Tilwara further to Rudrapryag, the road is fairly falt and goes along the banks of the Alaknanda.

Rudraprayag to Sri Badarinath Route

Place Altitude (m) Distance (km) Total Distance(km)
Rudraprayag 610 0 0
Gholtri 645 10 10
Gaucher 790 11 21
Kranparyag 795 10 31
Nandprayag 914 21 52
Chamoli 960 10 62
Birahi 1100 8 70
Pipalkoti 1372 6 76
Garurganga 1372 6 82
Tangni 1677 6 88
Helong 1524 8 94
Joshimath 1890 14 102
Vishnuprayag 1372 10 116
Gobinghat 1829 10 126
Pandukeshwar 1829 4 130
Hanumanchatti 2286 9 139
Sri Badarinath 3122 15 154

Char Dham Yatra Road Map With distance Indications